View Schedule

Honors Math 6A and Honors Math 6B together cover a full year of Prealgebra for advanced sixth or seventh graders (ages 11–13).

Live instructors prepare students for the challenges of algebra with problem-solving techniques that help them succeed beyond the classroom.

Sample of the 24 Game Diagram of an angle-chasing problem Diagram of the goat-on-a-leash circular area problem
Level
6
Term
Year-Round
Length
18 weeks
Weekly In-Class
Time
~2 hours
Tuition
$875.00 (~$49 per week)
Skills
Arithmetic rules, exponents, multiples and divisibility, primes, linear equations and inequalities, ratios
View Schedule
Level
6
Term
Year-Round
Length
9 weeks or 18 weeks
Weekly In-Class
Time
~4 hours or ~2 hours
Tuition
$875.00 (~$49 per week)
Skills
Percents, square roots, geometry, statistics, counting, and problem-solving strategies
View Schedule
  • chart icon

    Choose the right level

    Students who complete Honors Math 6A are ready for Honors Math 6B. To determine if your student is ready for this course or others at the Virtual Campus, learn more here.

  • certificate icon

    Curriculum

    Our expert instructors use Art of Problem Solving curriculum to teach Honors Math 6: Prealgebra. AoPS curriculum is a much broader and deeper exploration of challenging mathematics than a typical math curriculum, preparing students for success at top universities and in competitive careers.

    This course covers the Art of Problem Solving Prealgebra book.

    Honors Math 6A
    Prealgebra starts by formalizing the rules of arithmetic that students learned in elementary school, so they can build on a rigorous foundation as they move into algebra. Students are then introduced to beginning topics in number theory and algebra, including common divisors and multiples, primes and prime factorizations, basic equations and inequalities, and ratios.

    Honors Math 6B
    ‍‍Students study percents and square roots, dive into geometric tools and strategies, and are introduced to discrete mathematics and statistics, while continuing to develop their general problem-solving strategies.

  • laptop with person icon

    Format

    Our instructors hold classes virtually, in a small-sized (10-16 students) videoconferencing classroom.

  • test icon

    Homework and exams

    There are about 1 to 3 hours of homework each week. There is one timed final exam at the end of the course.

  • book return icon

    Drop and refund policies

    Visit our tuition page to learn more about our drop and refund policies.

  • calendar icon

    Schedule

    Each course runs for 18 weeks and offers two timing formats. Both cover the same course material.

    • One 105-minute lesson per week, or
    • Two 55-minute lessons per week

    NEW THIS SUMMER - Accelerated Honors Math 6B, offering a 9 week session covering the same material as the other class formats. Look for class ID 17628 to enroll.

    • Two 105-minute lessons per week

Schedule

Course Fee: $875.00 (~$49 per week), $934.00 w/books
Jan 31 - Jun 1
Tue. & Thu.
6:20 pm - 7:15 pm ET
5:20 pm - 6:15 pm CT
4:20 pm - 5:15 pm MT
3:20 pm - 4:15 pm PT
ID: 16942
Full
Feb 8 - Jun 9
Wed. & Fri.
5:00 pm - 5:55 pm ET
4:00 pm - 4:55 pm CT
3:00 pm - 3:55 pm MT
2:00 pm - 2:55 pm PT
ID: 16944
Full
Feb 12 - Jun 18
Sunday
12:45 pm - 2:30 pm ET
11:45 am - 1:30 pm CT
10:45 am - 12:30 pm MT
9:45 am - 11:30 am PT
ID: 16945
Closed
Feb 19 - Jun 25
Sunday
7:00 pm - 8:45 pm ET
6:00 pm - 7:45 pm CT
5:00 pm - 6:45 pm MT
4:00 pm - 5:45 pm PT
ID: 17451
Closed
Mar 1 - Jun 28
Wednesday
7:00 pm - 8:45 pm ET
6:00 pm - 7:45 pm CT
5:00 pm - 6:45 pm MT
4:00 pm - 5:45 pm PT
ID: 16943
WAITLIST
Apr 4 - Aug 10
Tue. & Thu.
6:20 pm - 7:15 pm ET
5:20 pm - 6:15 pm CT
4:20 pm - 5:15 pm MT
3:20 pm - 4:15 pm PT
ID: 17392
ENROLL
2 spots left
May 30 - Oct 5
Tue. & Thu.
7:45 pm - 8:40 pm ET
6:45 pm - 7:40 pm CT
5:45 pm - 6:40 pm MT
4:45 pm - 5:40 pm PT
ID: 17598
ENROLL
Jun 7 - Oct 13
Wed. & Fri.
7:00 pm - 7:55 pm ET
6:00 pm - 6:55 pm CT
5:00 pm - 5:55 pm MT
4:00 pm - 4:55 pm PT
ID: 17600
ENROLL
Jul 9 - Nov 12
Sunday
12:45 pm - 2:30 pm ET
11:45 am - 1:30 pm CT
10:45 am - 12:30 pm MT
9:45 am - 11:30 am PT
ID: 17602
ENROLL
3 Please note there are no classes: May 27 - May 29 | July 1 - July 7 | September 2 - September 4 | November 20 - November 26 | December 22 - January 4
Course Fee: $875.00 (~$49 per week), $934.00 w/books
Jan 15 - May 14
Sunday
12:45 pm - 2:30 pm ET
11:45 am - 1:30 pm CT
10:45 am - 12:30 pm MT
9:45 am - 11:30 am PT
ID: 16958
Full
Jan 18 - May 19
Wed. & Fri.
7:00 pm - 7:55 pm ET
6:00 pm - 6:55 pm CT
5:00 pm - 5:55 pm MT
4:00 pm - 4:55 pm PT
ID: 16954
Closed
Jan 20 - May 19
Friday
7:00 pm - 8:45 pm ET
6:00 pm - 7:45 pm CT
5:00 pm - 6:45 pm MT
4:00 pm - 5:45 pm PT
ID: 16955
Closed
Jan 22 - May 21
Sunday
10:30 am - 12:15 pm ET
9:30 am - 11:15 am CT
8:30 am - 10:15 am MT
7:30 am - 9:15 am PT
ID: 16957
Closed
Jan 23 - May 22
Monday
4:45 pm - 6:30 pm ET
3:45 pm - 5:30 pm CT
2:45 pm - 4:30 pm MT
1:45 pm - 3:30 pm PT
ID: 16949
Closed
Jan 24 - May 25
Tue. & Thu.
2:00 pm - 2:55 pm ET
1:00 pm - 1:55 pm CT
12:00 pm - 12:55 pm MT
11:00 am - 11:55 am PT
ID: 16950
Closed
Tue. & Thu.
6:20 pm - 7:15 pm ET
5:20 pm - 6:15 pm CT
4:20 pm - 5:15 pm MT
3:20 pm - 4:15 pm PT
ID: 16951
Closed
Feb 1 - May 31
Wednesday
4:45 pm - 6:30 pm ET
3:45 pm - 5:30 pm CT
2:45 pm - 4:30 pm MT
1:45 pm - 3:30 pm PT
ID: 16953
Closed
Feb 3 - Jun 2
Friday
9:15 pm - 11:00 pm ET
8:15 pm - 10:00 pm CT
7:15 pm - 9:00 pm MT
6:15 pm - 8:00 pm PT
ID: 16956
Closed
Feb 12 - Jun 18
Sunday
12:45 pm - 2:30 pm ET
11:45 am - 1:30 pm CT
10:45 am - 12:30 pm MT
9:45 am - 11:30 am PT
ID: 16959
Closed
Feb 14 - Jun 8
Tue. & Thu.
1:30 pm - 2:25 pm ET
12:30 pm - 1:25 pm CT
11:30 am - 12:25 pm MT
10:30 am - 11:25 am PT
ID: 17219
Full
Feb 14 - Jun 15
Tue. & Thu.
7:45 pm - 8:40 pm ET
6:45 pm - 7:40 pm CT
5:45 pm - 6:40 pm MT
4:45 pm - 5:40 pm PT
ID: 16952
Full
Mar 21 - Jul 27
Tue. & Thu.
6:20 pm - 7:15 pm ET
5:20 pm - 6:15 pm CT
4:20 pm - 5:15 pm MT
3:20 pm - 4:15 pm PT
ID: 17070
ENROLL
1 spot left
Jun 19 - Aug 24
Mon. & Thu.
7:00 pm - 8:45 pm ET
6:00 pm - 7:45 pm CT
5:00 pm - 6:45 pm MT
4:00 pm - 5:45 pm PT
ID: 17628
ENROLL
3 Please note there are no classes: May 27 - May 29 | July 1 - July 7 | September 2 - September 4 | November 20 - November 26 | December 22 - January 4