In this summer course, students build foundational problem-solving skills and strategies they'll use throughout their education and explore some of our math team's favorite unconventional math topics.

Camp 4 sign next to crab in pond with numbers, aligator scale, color shapes

Math Beasts Camp 4

Grade
4
Term
Summer
Length
2 weeks or 4 weeks
Daily In-Class Time
3 hours or 1.5 hours
Tuition
$749.00
Skills
Problem solving, number theory, counting, critical thinking
View Schedule
  • chart icon

    Choose the right level

    Math Beasts Camp 4 is designed for students who will be ready to take Honors Math 4 in the fall. Many students take Math Beasts Camp 4 either the summer before the fourth grade or the summer after, depending on when they plan to take Honors Math 4.

  • certificate icon

    Curriculum

    Our expert instructors use content developed by the Art of Problem Solving curriculum team to teach Math Beasts Camp 4. As a deep exploration of challenging mathematics, AoPS curriculum prepares students for success at top universities and competitive careers. No books are required for this class.

    Math Beasts Camp 4 includes sessions in Mathematical Exploration and Problem Solving.

    Our Mathematical Exploration sessions are designed to equip students with general mathematical strategies that will be useful throughout their education. We introduce topics most students won't encounter until much later in their schooling. By exploring and manipulating simple dot diagrams, students will dig into rich mathematical ideas in discrete mathematics and number theory, which are critical to many areas of computer science and advanced mathematics.

    The Problem Solving sessions focus on logical thinking, while providing review of key math concepts. Students participate in a wide range of math-related games and puzzles that push student understanding of familiar topics beyond the standard grade level.

    Note: This course does not contain any content from the 2020 Math Beasts Camp 3-4 course. Students who took Math Beasts Camp 3-4 in 2020 will not repeat material if they take Math Beasts Camp 4 in 2021.

  • laptop with person icon

    Format

    Our instructors hold classes virtually, in a small-sized (10-16 students) videoconferencing classroom.

  • notepad with check icon

    Homework

    There is no required homework for Math Beasts Camp 4. However, we've prepared more materials than we can cover during class and many students continue working on them after class for extra practice.

  • book refund icon

    Drop and refund policies

    If you drop a summer course before the start of your first class session, we'll issue a full refund for the course tuition. No refunds will be issued for withdrawing from a summer course after the start of your first class session.

  • calendar icon

    Schedule

    Our summer course offerings meet five days a week, Monday through Friday. We offer this course in two timing formats. Both cover the same course material.

    • The two-week course meets for 3 hours each day.
    • The four-week course meets for 1.5 hours each day.

Schedule

Course Fee: $749.00
Jun 21 - Jul 2
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 9228
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 8531
Jul 12 - Jul 23
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 9380
ENROLL
Jul 12 - Aug 6
Mon - Fri
9:30 am - 11:00 am ET
8:30 am - 10:00 am CT
7:30 am - 9:00 am MT
6:30 am - 8:00 am PT
ID: 8534
ENROLL
1 spot left
Mon - Fri
9:30 am - 11:00 am ET
8:30 am - 10:00 am CT
7:30 am - 9:00 am MT
6:30 am - 8:00 am PT
ID: 9327
ENROLL
1 spot left
Mon - Fri
11:30 am - 1:00 pm ET
10:30 am - 12:00 pm CT
9:30 am - 11:00 am MT
8:30 am - 10:00 am PT
ID: 8530
Mon - Fri
11:30 am - 1:00 pm ET
10:30 am - 12:00 pm CT
9:30 am - 11:00 am MT
8:30 am - 10:00 am PT
ID: 9306
Mon - Fri
4:15 pm - 5:45 pm ET
3:15 pm - 4:45 pm CT
2:15 pm - 3:45 pm MT
1:15 pm - 2:45 pm PT
ID: 8533
Mon - Fri
4:15 pm - 5:45 pm ET
3:15 pm - 4:45 pm CT
2:15 pm - 3:45 pm MT
1:15 pm - 2:45 pm PT
ID: 9321
Jul 19 - Aug 13
Mon - Fri
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm ET
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CT
11:30 am - 1:00 pm MT
10:30 am - 12:00 pm PT
ID: 8529
Mon - Fri
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm ET
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CT
11:30 am - 1:00 pm MT
10:30 am - 12:00 pm PT
ID: 9328
ENROLL
2 spots left
Mon - Fri
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm ET
5:30 pm - 7:00 pm CT
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm MT
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm PT
ID: 9390
ENROLL
Aug 9 - Aug 20
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 8532
ENROLL
3 spots left
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 9347
ENROLL
No classes matching your filters are available.