In this summer course, students build foundational problem-solving skills and strategies they'll use throughout their education and explore some of our math team's favorite unconventional math topics.

Camp 3 sign next to 3 fish swiming, honeycomb paths, puzzle

Math Beasts Camp 3

Grade
3
Term
Summer
Length
2 weeks or 4 weeks
Daily In-Class Time
3 hours or 1.5 hours
Tuition
$749.00
Skills
Pattern recognition, cryptography, spatial thinking, geometry, symmetry
View Schedule
  • chart icon

    Choose the right level

    Math Beasts Camp 3 is designed for students who will be ready to take Honors Math 3 in the fall. Many students take Math Beasts Camp 3 either the summer before the third grade or the summer after, depending on when they plan to take Honors Math 3.

  • certificate icon

    Curriculum

    Our expert instructors use content developed by the Art of Problem Solving curriculum team to teach Math Beasts Camp 3. As a deep exploration of challenging mathematics, AoPS curriculum prepares students for success at top universities and competitive careers. No books are required for this class.

    Math Beasts Camp 3 includes sessions in Mathematical Exploration and Problem Solving.

    Our Mathematical Exploration sessions are designed to equip students with general mathematical strategies that will be useful throughout their education. We introduce topics most students won't encounter until much later in their schooling. Students develop spatial thinking skills and intuition for the importance of symmetry through drawing and interacting with interesting shapes like knots, spirals, and plane tilings.

    The Problem Solving sessions focus on logical thinking, while providing review of key math concepts. Students participate in a wide range of math-related games and puzzles. They also get a taste of cryptography as we introduce reasoning and pattern-recognition strategies.

    Note: This course contains some content from the 2020 Math Beasts Camp 3–4 course. Students who took Math Beasts Camp 3–4 in 2020 will repeat some material if they take Math Beasts Camp 3 in 2021.

  • laptop with person icon

    Format

    Our instructors hold classes virtually, in a small-sized (10-16 students) videoconferencing classroom.

  • notepad with check icon

    Homework

    There is no required homework for Math Beasts Camp 3. However, we've prepared more materials than we can cover during class and many students continue working on them after class for extra practice.

  • book refund icon

    Drop and refund policies

    If you drop a summer course before the start of your first class session, we'll issue a full refund for the course tuition. No refunds will be issued for withdrawing from a summer course after the start of your first class session.

  • calendar icon

    Schedule

    Our summer course offerings meet five days a week, Monday through Friday. We offer this course in two timing formats. Both cover the same course material.

    • The two-week course meets for 3 hours each day.
    • The four-week course meets for 1.5 hours each day.

Schedule

Course Fee: $749.00
Jun 21 - Jul 2
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 9320
ENROLL
2 spots left
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 8525
Jul 12 - Jul 23
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 8959
ENROLL
Jul 12 - Aug 6
Mon - Fri
9:30 am - 11:00 am ET
8:30 am - 10:00 am CT
7:30 am - 9:00 am MT
6:30 am - 8:00 am PT
ID: 8528
Mon - Fri
9:30 am - 11:00 am ET
8:30 am - 10:00 am CT
7:30 am - 9:00 am MT
6:30 am - 8:00 am PT
ID: 8958
Mon - Fri
11:30 am - 1:00 pm ET
10:30 am - 12:00 pm CT
9:30 am - 11:00 am MT
8:30 am - 10:00 am PT
ID: 8603
Mon - Fri
11:30 am - 1:00 pm ET
10:30 am - 12:00 pm CT
9:30 am - 11:00 am MT
8:30 am - 10:00 am PT
ID: 9359
ENROLL
Mon - Fri
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm ET
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm CT
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm MT
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm PT
ID: 8527
Mon - Fri
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm ET
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm CT
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm MT
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm PT
ID: 8957
Mon - Fri
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm ET
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm CT
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm MT
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm PT
ID: 9326
ENROLL
1 spot left
Mon - Fri
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm ET
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm CT
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm MT
5:00 pm - 6:30 pm PT
ID: 9314
ENROLL
Jul 19 - Aug 13
Mon - Fri
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm ET
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CT
11:30 am - 1:00 pm MT
10:30 am - 12:00 pm PT
ID: 8524
Mon - Fri
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm ET
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CT
11:30 am - 1:00 pm MT
10:30 am - 12:00 pm PT
ID: 9325
ENROLL
Aug 9 - Aug 20
Mon - Fri
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm ET
11:30 am - 2:30 pm CT
10:30 am - 1:30 pm MT
9:30 am - 12:30 pm PT
ID: 8526
No classes matching your filters are available.